Archive for November 25, 2009

>Can’t stop the music…

>

…oh no you can’t!

But you do have to hurry if you want to play “Swap the snazzy CDs” with us!

My “Music to Craft by” CD swap over here will close for signups tomorrow…! I “ummm”-ed & “ahhhh”-ed & “hmmmmmmm”-ed & “haaaaaaaaa”-ed & “huruph”-ed & “prft”-ed, wondering it it wouldn’t be better to post our “playlists” online instead of send CDs, but shiny CDs & happy snail mail won out in the end & my crafty swap buddies & I will be sending & receiving little packages of good tunes in the post very soon!
(PASSWORD TO JOIN SWAP on Swap-Bot; MUSICTOCRAFTBY )

If all goes to plan, I’ll be posting my CDs out on Monday (that’s 2 CDs, one each for my 2 randomly assigned swapees), & I am really, really excited about getting some in return, I love discovering new artists, songs, or entire genres that I haven’t stumbled upon on my own, or, sometimes even better, hearing a blast from the past that has me singing along loudly – out of tune & probably with entirely incorrect lyrics.

So kiddies, you best sign up if your CD player is hungry… you know you want to…. all the cool kids are doing it….

November 25, 2009 at 8:19 pm 10 comments

>My Creative Space.

>

I don’t know how it got to be Thursday again so soon, but I just heard the garbage truck roar by, so oooooohparently it is, & here we are again in ‘My Creative Space’.
I am still on the doll making I was contemplating last week, what is it they say… slow & steady wins the race….?! Here are the girls so far – don’t worry, they’re mostly ‘armless. (HA! I kill me!)

I did something I’d never done before with the calico for their bodies – tea dying. I’d been curious about it for ages but just hadn’t gotten around to doing any until last week. As is my style, I winged the entire process, also known as “making it up as I go along“.

I put a bunch of teabags in a BIG pot of boiling water & waited for the water to get nice & dark, then I added a bunch of salt because I thought I had read somewhere that that helps the dye to take… that could be totally wrong, but hey, it’s just salt & can’t hurt…

I added the fabric & stirred it occasionally for about an hour (I took the teabags out when one started to leak tealeaves everywhere… oops!!), then I left it covered overnight. I rinsed it in the morning & it lost a little bit of colour, then hung it to dry out a little, before ironing it to dry while it was still a little damp.

Dry, it’s a whole lot lighter in colour than when it’s wet – so different that I freaked out briefly thinking I had the iron too high or something & had ruined it, but when it was all done I was very happy. I actually have a dress that I think used to be tea dyed until an unfortunate incident with some bleach, so I think I’ll have to do a little more of this in the near future – it was fun stirring a big steaming pot of aromatic fabric – I felt like a sorceress putting an evil spell on someones cloak or something… *mwahahahaha*

November 25, 2009 at 8:59 am 22 comments


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category