>Are you ready boots?

April 17, 2010 at 11:53 am 18 comments

>

Yesterday was a good day. The sun was out, The Punk was in a good mood, I had new boots to wear; all was right with the world.

swing The “new” boots of which I speak are my oppy find of the week for Sophie’s Flea Market Finds – oh how I love them, and how they were so obviously meant for me…

On Wednesday I was very tempted to break my Ethical Clothing Pledge with a pair of $25 boots from Rivers, they were cute damnit, and cheap, but, luckily for me & my weak will, I could nae get the pair I wanted onto my elephantine feet so left grumpily yet morally sound.

boots

Thursday, after Gymbaroo, a spot of opping was called for & the second I glimpsed these lovelies my heart skipped a beat. They were EXACTLY what I have been after, trawling Etsy for in the hopes of finding a cheap pair of with free shipping or something… and they were right in front of me. I picked them up – Size 8. ‘Aren’t I a Men’s 9?’ I wondered (I am in cons – I mistakenly thought these were American), but I thought I better try them on anywho – they looked about right – and oh they were! They are comfortable and tough and waterproof – which is somewhat of a novelty to me with my previous experience of cheap, cruddy boots. I could go on about their awesomeness, I could, but I shall content myself with smiling to myself when I see them and being rather chuffed. Oh – and they were $25, precisely, and about a thousand times better than the tat I wanted to buy the day before.

prettyboots

Entry filed under: bargains, boots, flea market finds, oppy, thrift, thrifting.

>Whoa. I was little…! >Desperately Seeking!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Knicky Knacks  |  April 17, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    How good is that. I share the same rare gigantic feet syndrome! Absolute nightmare when you have size 9 – 10 boats and rare as hens teeth to actually get your size in a sale – so WELL DONE to you. It's double happiness when you find a great Oppy bargain AND in your size!

    Reply
  • 2. Lola Nova  |  April 17, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    Oh yes, meant for you! And super cool! What a good find, yay you!

    Reply
  • 3. Renee  |  April 17, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Yep good find. Isn't it great when you finally find something you have been searching for at an op shop?!

    Reply
  • 4. Isis  |  April 17, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    sweet! nice find, isn't is amazing when you find something at the opshop that you love AND it's in your size 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. collecting feathers  |  April 17, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    I am sure they are of better quality than anything that rivers can throw up, and way more comfortable. Good one! xxNick

    Reply
  • 6. sue  |  April 17, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    What a great find and well done you for resisting the temptation of new shoes and breaking your pledge – you see, that was the Universe rewarding you for remaining faithful! They look great!

    Reply
  • 7. Amanda  |  April 17, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    oh how awesome, my heart is almost skipping an excited sympathetic beat!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  April 17, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Oh – I love them too!
    Just perfect! Brilliant find!!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Tricia  |  April 17, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    What a great find! I've been searching for a brown pair of boots second hand since last Winter! With no luck. Yay for you!

    Reply
  • 10. zofia  |  April 17, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    It's a great day when you can find some boots that fit and that you love! Yippee 😀

    Reply
  • 11. handmadehappiness  |  April 17, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    hey there well done on saving £23 & being strong, since finding flea market find's i find it easier to sticking to my stash busting also i do love a good rummage… treasures waiting to be found!!!!!
    have a peek if you have time 🙂

    http://misstracianderson.blogspot.com/2010/04/more-rummaging.html

    http://misstracianderson.blogspot.com/2010/04/my-day-of-rummaging.html

    Reply
  • 12. Megan  |  April 17, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    very nice! now all you need is a good rain to make some nice big muddy puddles for you to go stomping in!

    Reply
  • 13. Jodie  |  April 17, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    great find nice work vic!!
    i have kids sized feet, so have to usually buy kids shoes its a pain in the ass aha..

    Reply
  • 14. Sarah  |  April 18, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Cool find! It was definitely meant to be, the planets were aligned in the boot universe or something like that!

    Reply
  • 15. Vic  |  April 18, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Nick – '..throw up' is right lol, Rivers quality really is questionable at best, the boy bought workboots from there & they practically disintegrated…!

    Jodie – Now, see, I'd love that! I know The Punk has herself some pretty awesome boots lol.

    Thanks all for your comments… geez these boots rock… I'm glad you agree…. 😉

    Reply
  • 16. Courtney  |  April 18, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    oh it must have been fate!!! awesome fine hun
    xx Courtney

    Reply
  • 17. jade holi  |  April 18, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    oh happy days! dont you just finds like that!

    Reply
  • 18. Sophie Isobel  |  April 18, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Fabulous boots! What a great find. I'm sure you will love them lots! What a lovely outing they got to the park.
    Sophie x

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts